Rhode Island is the perfect place to start the licensing process as a real estate agent. For this reason, you must first obtain a Rhode Island real estate license.
We have prepared this article to provide important insights and valuable tips, covering the state rules and regulations for real estate licensing.
To start with, you must be at least 18 years old and a legal US resident.
On your way to get a license, you must in the first place, complete pre-licensing education. The state of Rhode Island requires applicants to complete 45 hours of pre-licensing education, three-hour course in Lead Poisoning/Lead Hazard Mitigation and three-hour course in New Agency Law (in case 45 hours do not include this).
After finishing these courses, there will be a final course exam, which will indicate completing pre-licensing courses. You will get a Certificate of completion providing that you pass the exam.
Note that the test is not supervised by a proctor and you should make sure that your educational package does not include one.
Taking and passing the Rhode Island real estate license exam is the main guarantee, that you possess knowledge of the rules governing the real estate industry in Rhode Island.
To take the exam, you must make a reservation here and pay the $70 non-refundable and non-transferable examination fee (per attempt). You can make the payment by credit card, debit card, voucher or electronic check.
Note that you must pay beforehand while reserving an exam sitting. Otherwise, your payment will not be accepted and you will not be able to take the test on that day.
On the day of the examination, you must arrive thirty minutes earlier and have with yourself two forms of identification, as well as other documents that the testing facility has asked for.
For the next step, you must visit the Bureau of Criminal Identification at the Rhode Island Department of Attorney General’s location and submit your background. This way you will authorize the body to start processing your history and find useful information.
Real estate applicants must also get E&O insurance, which RISC has taken responsibility to provide for Rhode Island real estate licenses.
The last step is to submit the license application, which you can do quite easily and quickly online. If this is your first time applying, then you should click on the “register” button and create an account.
Rhode Island Real Estate Commission
1511 Pontiac Avenue
Cranston RI 02920
Phone: (401) 462-9500
The real estate exam is actually hard to pass in the state of Rhode Island. There are many details, important points and material to remember.
Nevertheless, if you obtain much information about the examination format and the examination itself, it will be much easier for you to pass the test.
The exam contains 130 questions: 80 questions for the National portion and 50 questions for the State portion. For the former, you must get at least 56 answers correct, while for the latter 35 correct answers may be enough to pass.
To finish the entire test, you will have a total of four hours.
Yes, you must hold a real estate license to demonstrate that you are competent, trustworthy, reliable and qualified to sell or negotiate real estate products.