Probably, you are preparing for your upcoming wedding, if you have come to our page. As you may already know, the first thing you need to do is to get a Rhode Island marriage license. Here we talk about all marriage license requirements you need to meet.
Firstly, you should find the Clerk’s offices in your county. As there may be many, you can choose the one which is the nearest. You and your partner must go there in person and apply for the Rhode Island marriage license.
The clerk or his assistants will accompany you during the appliance process. Make sure you have taken the required documents. Otherwise, you won’t get the license, as those papers are the proofs of your identity.
When applying for your Rhode Island marriage license, you must present:
As in many other states, passports are only for clarifying the birth facts. It is a necessity in cases when the applicant is not a US resident.
What refers to the birth certificates, take into account this: You must get them from a birth records office located in the town/city/state you were born in.
In fact, only 18 years old or older applicants can get a valid Rhode Island marriage license. Yet, younger parties can also get licenses by meeting some requirements. To clarify, they have to present not only identification proofs but also some other documents.
The applicants who are 16 or 17 must get legal consent either from parents or a guardian. Moreover, the parents/guardian must be present during the appliance process. The consent they will give the couple must be signed and notarized by the clerk.
Things are a bit different when the parties are under the age of 16. In such cases, parental consent will not be enough for getting the license. So, in order to have a legal marriage, they must get approval from the Family Court.
In Rhode Island applicants can apply in two ways:
Otherwise, the marriage license will no longer be valid. Correspondingly, it will make the marriage invalid either.
According to state law, you must find someone who can legally officiate your marriage. However, it doesn’t mean that you can choose whoever you want. Rhode Island gives that authority to only a few people:
If it is the first time you are getting married, you may have some misunderstandings. To clarify, you may not know the responsibilities of your wedding officiant.
The main duty is performing the whole marriage ceremony. The officiant must put his signature on the license application. After that, he should get the signatures of the couple and witnesses.
All the writings on the application form must be done in black ink. Otherwise, they’ll become invalid. In the end, the officiant must record the marriage with the County Clerk for 72 hours.
Nearly all US states require a particular waiting period before you can receive your license. It varies from state to state and can last days and even months. However, there are some exceptions.
Luckily for you, Rhode Island is one of those states that don’t claim any waiting period. The state of Wyoming also belongs to this group. You can check that and other details about the Wyoming marriage license on our page.
The Rhode Island marriage license may expire if the applicants don’t use it in time. They must use the license within a 90-days period.
After those three months, the marriage license will no longer be valid. So, the licensees will have to send it back to the Clerk’s office and reapply for another one.
After you have applied for the marriage license, you need to pay to finally get it. The license fees vary from state to state. However, they may also differ from county to county. According to the last data, the fee for getting a Rhode Island marriage license is about $24.
There are some types of marriages that the Rhode Island state doesn’t recognize. Those bans are:
Interestingly enough, the state can have nothing against some other types of marriages. Those exceptions are: